Perched high above the rooftops, Wolfsberg Castle has for centuries been the prominent landmark of the town, bearing witness to its vibrant history. It is not known who built the castle, which was first mentioned in a document in 1178. Over the centuries, it has increasingly taken on the character of a commodious palace by virtue of frequent alteration work.
In 1846 the castle became the property of Count Hugo Henckel von Donnersmarck, who had the venerable building rebuilt in English Tudor style according to plans by Viennese architects Johann Romano and August Schwendenwein. Today the castle is owned by Kärntner Montanindustrie GmbH and is increasingly used as a cultural and exhibition centre.